Restaurant Mosaic and Chef Chantel Dartnall winners in the LUXE Restaurant Awards


On November 3rd, after a 6-month delay due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic, The Hospitality Counsel hosted their annual Luxe Restaurant Awards in collaboration with The House of BNG at the spectacular Rockstar Penthouse within the Houghton Hotel, celebrating the finest contributions to the South African restaurant sector.

More than 100 nominees were shortlisted for the prestigious awards ceremony, with categories ranging from the best fine dining restaurants to the best burger joints in South Africa.

The winners were announced to an intimate audience of 75 leading industry figures – including Chantel Dartnall of Restaurant Mosaic, winning both Chef and Restaurant of the Year. As well as Lorna Maseko, who was voted as South Africa’s Culinary Icon for the year of 2020.

Chad Fourie, Managing Director of The Hospitality Counsel, said: Our judges have been greatly impressed by the exceptional quality of nominees, and those who are on the shortlist know they have reached a very high standard.

The Winners of the Awards are as follows:
Restaurant of The Year: Restaurant Mosaic
Chef of The Year: Chantel Dartnall
New Restaurant of The Year: Aurum
Style Award: Ethos
Icon Award: Lorna Maseko
Culinary Media Personality of The Year: Chef Nti
Culinary Innovation Award: Gate
Culinary Rising Star: The Lazy Makoti
Lifetime Achievement Award: David Higgs
African Restaurant of The Year: Taste Kitchen
Burger Joint of The Year: Buns Out
Café of The Year: Tin Roof Café
Coffee Shop of The Year
Vintage Coffee
Country Restaurant of The Year: Almost Orange
Fine Dining Restaurant of The Year: La Colombe
Food Truck of The Year: The Filthy Moustache
Service Excellence Award: Marble
Sustainability Award: Grei
Wine Service Award: Moses Magwaza
Wine List of The Year: Restaurant Mosaic

Visit www.restaurantmosaic.com.

Thank you so much for commenting. That makes you a #JoziStyler!

Editor's choice