8th All Africa Business Leaders Awards Nominations Close End June #AABLA2018 @aablawards


Nominations for Africa’s biggest business award, the All Africa Business Leaders Awards™ in Partnership with CNBC Africa, close at midnight on Saturday, 30 June 2018.

Following another successful season in 2017, the AABLA™ will once honour captains of industry who have shown bold leadership, sound business growth and pioneered new avenues. In partnership with CNBC Africa, the All Africa Business Leaders Awards™ (AABLA™) will journey across the African continent to award business leaders in East, West and Southern Africa, which will conclude in Southern Africa at the All Africa Finale in November.

During the media launch of the 2018 AABLA™, Sylvester Chauke, 2017 Young Business Leader of the Year – Southern Africa and founder of DNA Brand Architects noted: “After winning the award, many opportunities opened up. We found ourselves traveling across the world showcasing our business as people were interested in what we do. We’ve been able to grow our business incredibly – 35% to be exact, just in one year – phenomenal growth.”

The AABLA™ Southern Africa judging panel includes:
Mr Sam Bhembe, CNBC Africa Non-Executive Director (Head Judge)
Mr Lee Naik, CEO of TransUnion Africa
Mr Jonathan Foster-Pedley, Dean and Director of Henley Business School Africa
Ms Anthea Gardner, CEO of Cartesian Capital
Ms Monique Vanek, CNBC Africa News Editor
Mr Bonang Mohale, CEO of Business Leadership South Africa
Dr Snowy Khoza, Executive Chairperson of Bigen Africa

The awards acknowledge and honour individuals who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in the business world from across Africa in a number of different disciplines. This year, East, West and Southern Africa will each host a regional event, where the regional winners will then go on to challenge their title at the All Africa AABLA™ Finale at a black tie gala dinner hosted at The Sandton Convention Centre in November.

The All Africa Business Leaders Awards is by far our biggest event on the CNBC Africa calendar, hosting some 1 000 guests throughout the event that spans a period of 10 months. ABN Event Productions has been the official events management company for the awards since inception, allowing us to grow with the event over the years with our aim for the 2018 AABLA™ Finale to broadcast a live 90-minute special across the African continent, allowing CNBC Africa viewers moment-by-moment participation in this unrivaled event.
Alexander Leibner | Head of ABN Event Productions

The All Africa AABLA™ 2017 winners in each of the categories were:

Young Business Leader of the Year Presented by Lancaster University
Alloysius Attah – Farmerline, CEO

Business Woman of the Year Presented by Wiphold
Oluwatoyin Sanni – United Capital PLC, Group CEO

Innovator of the Year
James Steere – Co-Founder, I-Drop Water

Industrialist of the Year Presented by the Industrial Development Corporation (IDC)
General Mthembu – Founder, Mthembu Tissue Converting

Entrepreneur of the Year
Ivan and Lynette Saltzman – Founders, Dis-Chem Pharmacies

Philanthropist of the Year
Jannie Mouton – Founder and Chairman, PSG Group

Company of the Year
Capitec Bank Holdings Ltd

Business Leader of the Year
Herbert Wigwe – Access Bank PLC, CEO

Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr Samuel Motsuenyane – Founder, Dr Sam Motsuenyane Rural Development Foundation

The 8th All Africa Business Leaders Awards™ in Partnership with CNBC Africa welcomes partners Hollard, the IDC and Lancaster University to the 2018 event.

Visit www.aablawards.com.

Editor's choice