A taste of Sanlam Handmade Contemporary Fair @HMC_Fair #ShopJoziStyle (9-11 October)

A taste of Sanlam Handmade Contemporary Fair @HMC_Fair #ShopJoziStyle (9-11 October)

2015 Fact sheet

Fair facts
This is the sixth year the Fair is running!

In 2014, the Fair was re-branded from FoodWineDesign to the Sanlam Handmade Contemporary Fair. Sanlam has been the headline sponsor of the Fair since inception in 2010. There will be a record 120 exhibitors. The Fair covers 2 000sqm of the rooftop of Hyde Park Corner.

Find the Sanlam Handmade Contemporary Fair on social media:
Facebook: facebook.com/sanlamhandmadecontemporaryfair
Twitter: @HMC_Fair
Instagram: @sanlam_HMC
The official hashtag is #SanlamHmC

Featured designer
In line with the brand refresh, Mia Widlake, co-owner of Studio19, has been selected as this year’s featured designer to give the Fair a fresh, breezy aesthetic inspired by on-trend palettes and materials.

Special projects
Every year Artlogic creates special projects in order to offer visitors a unique experience that is exclusive to the Sanlam Handmade Contemporary Fair. This will include two new sections, an open-air Bloody Mary lounge and a festive beer garden.

Below is the line-up of special projects for the 2015 Fair:

1. Chefs in the City
On the food side, guests can look out for the return of the popular Chefs in the City in the Sanlam Lounge. The special project, which was launched last year, will boast the talented Dario di Angeli of Cube Tasting Kitchen, Marthinus Ferreira of dw eleven-13 and Andrea Burgener of The Leopard. Each of the chefs will take the stand for one day, preparing their signature dishes for visitors.

2. The Garden Route experience
The Fair is also excited to introduce the Garden Route experience as the second special project. Guests can look forward to the likes of Pret-a-Pot Ceramics, Mungo Textiles, Newstead Wines and others, who will be travelling from the Cape to showcase their wares.

3. Champagne and charcuterie bar
This year’s Sanlam lounge will be dominated by a central bar designed by Mia Widlake, our 2015 featured designer. Two of our top artisanal producers have been invited to trade as part of this Special Project, which has been dubbed the Champagne and Charcuterie bar:

Black Elephant Vintners: This is boutique winery based in the heart of Franschhoek. They will be selling their full range of MCC, reds and whites from the bar.

Richard Bosman: The master charcutier needs no introduction, as this will be the fifth year he’s trading his traditional cured meats at the Fair. Richard Bosman will be serving some of his irresistible nose-to-tail platters in the Sanlam bar.

Sanlam Investment’s approach to investing and creating future Wealthsmiths is to identify businesses with great potential, no matter what their size, and support their growth over the long term which is why the Fair has always been such a natural fit for the business.

With the Fair being the first event of its kind to combine elements from food, wine and design industries, Sanlam believes that the positive change and shift in direction will result in the growth of even more proudly South African entrepreneurs who bring the artisanal, bespoke and niche to the consumer.

As “local” and “well-made” are an integral part of the Fair, and much like the exhibitors are experts in their chosen field, Sanlam is the expert in investments and understands the importance of being able to offer a superior product.  Sanlam also has a huge respect for the extraordinary amount of time, planning and sheer determination it takes to turn a dream into a sustainable business despite economic business challenges.

The Sanlam brand is expressed through the pay-off line, “Wealthsmiths™” which represents the roll-up-your-sleeves, pragmatic approach to doing things, their ethos, and appreciation for the raw materials with which they work –clients’ money. Sanlam believes that this roll-up-your-sleeves ethos is mirrored by the talented exhibitors at HmC and their dedication to their own raw materials whether these are fabric, clay, grapes or raw cocoa.

Exciting collaborations and new exhibitors to look out for:

FORAGER.
Combining the three ingredients that make any eating experience superb, this collaboration has created the ultimate combination of food, wine and design: Delicious local organic food from the Culinary Table, excellent natural wines from Babylonstoren and an eating design experience by FORAGER pop-up restaurant.

Werner Venter of FORAGER will be designing the social dining experience and working closely with Culinary Table chef Daniela Gutstadt to educate diners about food, flavours, and tastes. Diners will engage with their food on another level at this collaborative stand.

Launching at the Fair:
Over the years many entrepreneurs have launched their brands at the Sanlam Handmade Contemporary Fair, a fact that we take great pride in. This year, we are particularly excited to welcome Almond and Benji + Moon.

Almond is a print focused fashion label by designers Nicole Levenberg and Claudia Dougherty. All elements of their garments are locally sourced, produced and designed.

Benji + Moon is an online pet-ware store that will be launching at the Fair with a beautiful selection of handcrafted designer dog and cat products. They work with local artisans to create, among other things, leather collars, ceramic and wooden bowls, crocheted cat beds, felt dog beds and animal soaps.

Important information
Parking
We will be offering a free Park and Ride from Hyde Park High School (Third Road, about 1.5km from the Fair). Branded shuttles will be going between the school and Hyde Park Corner continuously, so there will be no wait.

Uber
For those who would prefer not to drive, we have partnered with Uber to get all guests to and from Sanlam HMC Fair safely and in style. All new users can sign up here with the promotional code: HMCFAIR and receive a free first ride up to R200. To request your ride, simply download the free application for iPhone, Android, Windows Phone, or visit the mobile site: m.uber.com. Existing users can grab a ride with new users or look to use the split fare option where you can split the fare with friends!

Exhibitors
Every year Artlogic aims to create a good balance of familiar and new exhibitors, and strong mix of producers from the lifestyle categories of design, food and wine. This year’s Fair has a record number of 120 exhibitors:

DESIGN EXHIBITORS
A Love Supreme www.alovesupreme.co.za
Adele Dejak www.adeledejak.com
Alexander’s Band www.alexandersband.com
Almond
Art in the Forest www.artintheforest.com
August www.august1983.com
Aureum www.aureumdesign.com
Ballo www.ballo.co.za
Beloved Beadwork www.belovedbeadwork.co.za
Benji + Moon www.facebook.com/benjiandmoon
Blank Ink Design www.blankinkdesign.com
Bunny & Clyde www.bunnyandclyde.co.za
Ceramic Factory www.ceramicfactory.co.za
Colony Design www.colonydesign.co.za
CREATE www.createluxury.co.za
Dark Horse www.dark-horse.co.za
Dear Rae www.dearrae.co.za
Frontier Outdoor Goods www.frontiergoods.co.za
Famke www.famke.co.za
GOET Furniture www.goet.co.za
Henriette Botha www.henriettebotha.com
House of Gozdawa www.houseofgozdawa.com
Ilundi www.ilundi.co.za
iSpy www.handsdesign.co.za
KIN www.kinshop.co.za
Kirsten Goss www.kirstengoss.com
LAMY www.lamy.com
Leg Studios www.legstudios.co.za
Life: From the Roots
Lulu & Marula www.luluandmarula.com
Makers of Stuff www.mosproducts.co.za
MATBLAC www.matblac.com
Meyer Von Wielligh www.meyervonwielligh.co.za
Missibaba www.missibaba.com
Mungo www.mungo.co.za
Pichulik www.pichulik.com
pret-a-pot www.pret-a-pot.com
RETROSUPERFUTURE www.retrosuperfuture.com
Simon and Mary www.simonandmary.co.za
Simple Intrigue www.simpleintrigue.com
Smith Jewellery www.smith-jewellery.com
Sticky Fudge www.stickyfudge.com
Suki Suki Naturals www.sukisukinaturals.co.za
Sunday Times Fashion Weekly www.timeslive.co.za
Switched On Lights and Design
The Artisan www.the-artisan.co.za
The Block Shop www.theblockshop.co.za
The Wren Design www.thewrendesign.com
Tinker Tailor www.tinkertailor.co.za
Toka Linen www.facebook.com/tokalinen
TREBENE www.trebene.com
Umdabu www.umdabu.co.za
Victoria Verbaan www.victoriaverbaan.com
White Rabbit Days www.whiterabbitdays.com
Zana www.zanaproducts.co.za

FOOD EXHIBITORS
1701 www.1701.co.za
Andrea Burgener, The Leopard (Chefs in the City – Friday) www.leopardfoodcompany.com
Braeside Meat Boutique www.braesidebutchery.co.za
Chrisna’s Olives www.chrisnasolives.co.za
Colour Me Healthy www.colourmehealthy.co.za
Condé Nast House & Garden Gourmet with Slow Meat www.houseandgarden.co.za
Coobs www.coobs.co.za
Corkstreet Beverage Co. www.corkstreetbeverage.com
Culinary Table www.culinarytable.co.za
Dario de Angeli, Cube Tasting Kitchen (Chefs in the City – Sunday) www.cubekitchen.co.za
Delish Sisters www.facebook.com/delishsisters
Esposito, Natural Foods from the Kamberg Valley
Father Coffee www.fathercoffee.co.za
Fine & Fabulous www.fineandfabulous.co.za
FORAGER. www.forager.flavors.me
Health Works www.healthworks.co.za
Honest Chocolate www.honestchocolate.co.za
Kuhestan Farm Products www.kuhestan.co.za
Leafy Greens www.leafygreens.co.za
Lettas Kraal Olive Oil www.lettaskraal.co.za
Liége Café www.liegecafe.co.za
Marthinus Ferreira, dw eleven-13 (Chefs in the City – Saturday) www.dw11-13.co.za
Mastrantonio www.mastrantonio.com
O’ My Goodness www.omygoodness.co.za
Ooh la la artisan confectionery www.oohlalaconfectionery.com
Paquito’s Treatery www.paquitos.co.za
Paul’s Homemade Ice Cream www.paulshomemadeicecream.com
Red Chamber www.redchamber.co.za
Richard Bosman Quality Cured Meats www.richardbosman.co.za
Rio Largo Olive Estate www.riolargo.co.za
Santana Gourmet www.santanagourmet.co.za
Soul Souvlaki www.facebook.com/SoulSouvlaki
The Cakeman www.thecakeman.co.za
The Counter www.thecounter.co.za
The Gaia Culture www.thegaiaculture.com
The Really Interesting Food Company www.thereallyinterestingfoodcompany.com
The Tea Chest www.teachest.co.za
Tostada www.tostada.co.za
Tutto Food Co www.tutto.co.za
Willoughby’s www.willoughbyandco.co.za
Yswara Luxury Tea www.yswara.com

WINE EXHIBITORS
Anthonij Rupert Wines www.rupertwines.com
Babylonstoren www.babylonstoren.com
Bartinney Private Cellar www.bartinney.co.za
Black Elephant Vintners www.bevintners.co.za
Bottega Family Wine www.bottegafamilywine.co.za
Craft Liquor Merchants www.craftliquormerchants.co.za
Foothills www.kleinwelmoed.co.za
Glen Carlou www.glencarlou.co.za
Graham Beck Wines www.grahambeckwines.com
Grande Provence www.grandeprovence.co.za
Highland Park Whisky www.highlandpark.co.uk
Hope on Hopkins Distillery www.hopeonhopkins.co.za
The Idiom Collection www.idiom.co.za
Innis & Gunn www.innisandgunn.com
Inverroche Distillery www.inverroche.co.za
Jorgensen’s Artisan Distillery www.jd7.co.za
Louisvale Wines www.louisvale.com
Marianne Wine Estate www.mariannewines.com
Newstead Wine and MCC www.newsteadwines.com
Oneiric www.oneiric.co.za
Port2Port www.port2port.co.za
Rickety Bridge Winery www.ricketybridgewinery.com
Strandveld Vineyards www.strandveld.co.za
Welgemeend Wines www.welgemeend.co.za
Wilderer Distillery www.wilderer.co.za

This info is just a taste of what’s to come over the weekend of 9-11 October.

For more info please visit www.sanlamhmc.co.za.

No Comments Yet.

Thank you so much for commenting. That makes you a #JoziStyler!

%d bloggers like this: