The nominees for the Feathers Awards 2014 are ….

2014 Feather Awards
The Feather Awards 2014 are returning for the 6th year, and, as usual, they’re not holding back. Cheeky, Irreverent, Controversial, Hilarious and Fabulous – these words that have been used to describe the award ceremony, founded in 2008 as a tongue-in-cheek, light-hearted celebration of high-profile individuals who, according to the LGBTI community, have inspired, scandalised and amused South Africans over the past year.

With South Africa celebrating its 20th year of democracy, the Feather Awards is joining in to celebrate our nation’s momentous anniversary, while using the occasion to acknowledge the the LBGTI community for its fierce commitment Freedom of Expression.

Chevrolet, the event’s long-time partner, have returned as sponsors of the awards 6th edition, as has the Gauteng Department of Sports, Arts, Culture and Recreation.

Defined by their zany, outrageous categories, there’s no doubt that Feathers 6 is set to continue the tradition of being South Africa’ s most irreverent awards ceremony. Amongst this years nominees are a glittering group of Mzansi’s it-girls and hot boys, such as Drama Queen of the Year, Fag Hag of the Year, and Socialite of the Year, coupled with more conventional awards for Role Model of the Year and Musician of the Year, the Feather Awards always gets people talking. And the 2014 edition will be no exception to this rule.

“It’s our 6th year, and we’re still going strong” comments Thami Kotlolo, founder and spokesperson for the Feather Awards. “This year is especially meaningful because we’re celebrating 20 years as a democracy – we have a long way to go when it comes to really recognising the rights of the LGBTI community in South Africa, but it’s comforting to live in a country where our rights are enshrined in the constitution.

And the nominees are …

Best Styled Female – Nandi Mngoma, Nhlanhla Nciza and Minnie Dlamini
Best Styled Male – Maps Maponyane, Katleho Sinivasan and Katlego Maboe
Hunk of the Year – Naked DJ, Nkuli Tshirumbula and Andile Gumbi
Diva Extraordinaire of the Year – Thembi Seete, Nhlanhla Nciza and Thembi Nyandeni
Sports Personality of the Year – Chad Le Clos, Fikile Mbalula and Hashim Amla
Role model of the Year – Zizo Beda, Thuli Madonsela and Lebo Mashile
Cutest Couple – Lalla Hirayama & Chris Nkosi, Terry Pheto & Mampho Brescia and Lee-Ann Liebenberg & Nicki Van Der Walt
Hot Chick of the Year – Jessica Nkosi, Amanda du Pont and Nandi Mngoma
Media Award of the Year – Shift, Gay Pages and Exit
Fag hag of the Year – Lalla & Chris, Dineo Moeketsi and Lerato Kganyago
Musician – Uhuru, Cassper Nyovest and Mafikizolo
Socialite – Simpiwe Dana, Bridget Khati and King Olwee
Drama Queen – The Chomee, Arthur, DJ Euphonik & Bonang saga, Generations cast & Mfundi Vundla and AKA & Casper

The Feather Awards will take place at a undisclosed Johannesburg venue on 12 November, 2014.

Editor's choice